Appreciating the art of spacial design: The power of light and space

For those who may not think space matters, The Green Market Blog, in a recent post cites two studies about the importance of natural light for student learning.

The more I study and look at school architecture, the more I am coming to appreciate some of these more subtle aspects of physical design in general. For example, I found myself studying the work of Charles and Ray Eames, creators of the Powers of Ten film, which I’ve referenced in the past.

The Eames’s were among the most important designers of the 20th centuries. Their designs span space and time but it is the light that captivates me. Especially captured in black and white it seems compelling. It’s hard to imagine space and light not mattering when you see what they can do to place at their best.

If you’d like to learn more, see Pat Kirkham’s book about the Eames.

One comment

  1. I am wrapping up project management for the buildup of a 20,000 sq ft alternative school. Quite the learning curve considering my background is in software & manufacturing. All I can say is details matter, the bathroom fixtures, the paint, the floor, the sound insulation, the lighting, etc, etc, etc…. It’s easy to overlook this stuff during the insanity of construction, but the details can come back to haunt you.

Leave a Reply

